HomeNews ›› Infoprensa FIM CEV Repsol 2020/5: The FIM CEV Repsol a vital road to the MotoGP World Championship

Infoprensa FIM CEV Repsol 2020/5: The FIM CEV Repsol a vital road to the MotoGP World Championship


The entry lists for the 2020 MotoGP World Championship have now been confirmed and there are 12 riders who will be making the step up from the FIM CEV Repsol. Jeremy Alcoba takes centre stage as the reigning FIM Moto3? Junior World Champion, but he?ll be joined on the Moto3? World Championship grid by seven more graduates too ? and there are four riders who move up from the Moto2? European Championship to compete on the world stage this season.

Of the 82 riders who will compete in the World Championship in 2020, 66 ? that?s an incredible 75% ? have made their way into Grand Prix racing via the FIM CEV Repsol. They include eight-time Champion and record-breaker Marc Marquez, 2019 rookie sensation Fabio Quartararo and premier class contenders Maverick Viñales and Alex Rins, as well as the likes of Alex Marquez, who makes his premier class debut as a two-time World Champion this season.

Alongside Alcoba, the riders making their full-time debuts in the Moto3? World Championship are Carlos Tatay, Ryusei Yamanaka, Jason Dupasquier, Barry Baltus, Yuki Kunii, Deniz Öncü and Maximilian Kofler. And they?re in good company: of the 31 riders on the grid, 29 have competed in the FIM CEV Repsol. Some of the biggest names on the list include Dennis Foggia (FIM Moto3? Junior World Champion in 2017), Raúl Fernández (FIM Moto3? JWCh in 2018), Jaume Masia, Sergio García, Toni Arbolino and Tatsuki Suzuki, all of whom have already proved key presences in the fight at the front.

Meanwhile, in a 30-deep Moto2 World Championship field, there are 23 riders who have previously raced in the FIM CEV Repsol. They include the likes of reigning Moto3? World Champion and intermediate class rookie Lorenzo Dalla Porta, Xavi Vierge, Augusto Fernandez, Nicolo Bulega, Aron Canet, Luca Marini and Tetsuta Nagashima ? although the list can and does go on. This season there are four riders who move from the Moto2? ECh directly into Moto2?: Edgar Pons, Andi Fahrid Izdihar, Kasma Daniel Bin Kasmayudin and Hector Garzó, reinforcing the position of the FIM CEV Repsol as a perfect springboard into the World Championship.

Without a doubt, every rider dreams of reaching MotoGP. And of the 22 riders who will get suited and booted to do battle in the world?s fastest motorcycle racing Championship in 2020, 15 have the FIM CEV Repsol on their CV. Reigning MotoGP? World Champion Marc Marquez was a 125cc race winner in the FIM CEV Repsol and many of his MotoGP? contemporaries were Champions the class: Aleix Espargaro (2004), Pol Espargaro (2006), Maverick Viñales (2010) and Alex Rins (2011). Alex Marquez then won the first FIM CEV Repsol Moto3? Championship in 2012, before Fabio Quartararo took back-to-back titles in the class in 2013 and 2014 on his journey to becoming MotoGP? Rookie of the Year, podium finisher and pole-sitter in 2019.

Each and every one of them will doubtless prove inspirations to all those who are gearing up to compete in the 2020 FIM CEV Repsol, dreaming of one day reaching MotoGP?. And the numbers show there?s no better place for them to begin working on that dream.

Title sponsor Moto3, Moto2 and ETC Official Tyre Supplier Dell'Orto ECU and Dashboard exclusive supplier of Moto3? Official Scooter Official Supplier Hawkers European Talent Cup Cuna de Campeones MotoGP FIM FIM Europe Dorna Sports